Login to AccuWeather.com Premium Login to AccuWeather.com Professional Login to AccuWeather.com RadarPlus AccuWeather.com

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cabled vp2 not displaying humidity and dew point
Dj1979
post Aug 31 2014, 10:46 PM
Post #1




Rank: Whirlwind
*

Group: Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 12-November 08
Member No.: 16,131





I've had my cabled vantage pro 2 since October 2005 and it hasn't given me any problems what so ever until about three weeks ago the humidity and dew point stopper displaying and it shows - -. The temperature is displaying fine and the cable hasn't been cut or frayed. Do you guys have any idea what could be wrong?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sunrise305
post Sep 1 2014, 09:39 AM
Post #2




Rank: Whirlwind
*

Group: Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 16-January 08
From: Madeira Beach, FL
Member No.: 12,545





I have solved similar problems with in the past by one of the following steps:

1. Removing and reseating all the connectors in the station.
2. Removing all powers sources from both the station and the console (A/C and batteries) overnight.

As I understand, the actual sensors can fail and you can buy new or refurbished replacements. Call or email Davis tech support. They are very responsive and helpful.

support@davisnet.com

Technical Support: (510) 732-7814
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dj1979
post Sep 3 2014, 11:02 PM
Post #3




Rank: Whirlwind
*

Group: Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 12-November 08
Member No.: 16,131





QUOTE(Sunrise305 @ Sep 1 2014, 09:39 AM) *
I have solved similar problems with in the past by one of the following steps:

1. Removing and reseating all the connectors in the station.
2. Removing all powers sources from both the station and the console (A/C and batteries) overnight.

As I understand, the actual sensors can fail and you can buy new or refurbished replacements. Call or email Davis tech support. They are very responsive and helpful.

support@davisnet.com

Technical Support: (510) 732-7814



I did the two steps above and still not getting a reading for the humidity/dew point/heat index. The temperature displays fine. Attached Image

This post has been edited by Dj1979: Sep 3 2014, 11:03 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sunrise305
post Sep 3 2014, 11:44 PM
Post #4




Rank: Whirlwind
*

Group: Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 16-January 08
From: Madeira Beach, FL
Member No.: 12,545





Certainly suggests an either failed or poorly connected sensor. Best to call tech support per above.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dj1979
post Sep 4 2014, 03:48 AM
Post #5




Rank: Whirlwind
*

Group: Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 12-November 08
Member No.: 16,131





QUOTE(Sunrise305 @ Sep 3 2014, 11:44 PM) *
Certainly suggests an either failed or poorly connected sensor. Best to call tech support per above.


I'm definitely calling Davis today. Is that sensor still available? I know Davis discontinued some parts awhile back and I've had this station since October 2005.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sunrise305
post Sep 4 2014, 09:20 AM
Post #6




Rank: Whirlwind
*

Group: Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 16-January 08
From: Madeira Beach, FL
Member No.: 12,545





Probably available. My unit is about the same age and they had parts (new - and refurbished at lower cost) for it when I called a few months ago.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dj1979
post Sep 4 2014, 03:29 PM
Post #7




Rank: Whirlwind
*

Group: Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 12-November 08
Member No.: 16,131





QUOTE(Sunrise305 @ Sep 4 2014, 09:20 AM) *
Probably available. My unit is about the same age and they had parts (new - and refurbished at lower cost) for it when I called a few months ago.

What parts were you looking for?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sunrise305
post Sep 4 2014, 05:32 PM
Post #8




Rank: Whirlwind
*

Group: Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 16-January 08
From: Madeira Beach, FL
Member No.: 12,545





As i recall the temp sensor.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dj1979
post Sep 4 2014, 06:24 PM
Post #9




Rank: Whirlwind
*

Group: Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 12-November 08
Member No.: 16,131





QUOTE(Sunrise305 @ Sep 4 2014, 05:32 PM) *
As i recall the temp sensor.

Oh okay about how much did that run you?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sunrise305
post Sep 4 2014, 08:46 PM
Post #10




Rank: Whirlwind
*

Group: Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 16-January 08
From: Madeira Beach, FL
Member No.: 12,545





I did not buy one. Ended up fixing. I suggest you call them. They are very helpful.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th November 2017 - 10:57 AM