Login to AccuWeather.com Premium Login to AccuWeather.com Professional Login to AccuWeather.com RadarPlus AccuWeather.com

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> VWS, how do I upload historic data to website?
WxSteve
post Jan 5 2007, 12:26 PM
Post #1




Rank: Tornado
**

Group: Founding Member
Posts: 135
Joined: 24-April 06
From: Menomonie, WI
Member No.: 1,775





Okay, here's my dilemma:

I run VWS 12.08 from my VP2 and sometimes the VP2 loses connection to the PC that runs VWS. When this happens I have gaps in my data (the latest gap is long, VWS quit receiving data on 12/31 and was restarted on 1/5).

Is there a way to tap into the datalogger and download those "lost" 4 days of data and update my website so it appears that there was no abend?

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help...


--------------------
Visit early, visit often:
WxSteve's Real Time Data
Hardware = Davis Vantage Pro 2
Software = Virtual Weather Station
Computer = Dedicated 1.2ghz AMD Athlon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
WxSteve
post Jan 11 2007, 12:46 PM
Post #2




Rank: Tornado
**

Group: Founding Member
Posts: 135
Joined: 24-April 06
From: Menomonie, WI
Member No.: 1,775





So, I'm assuming it can't be done...


--------------------
Visit early, visit often:
WxSteve's Real Time Data
Hardware = Davis Vantage Pro 2
Software = Virtual Weather Station
Computer = Dedicated 1.2ghz AMD Athlon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mark / Ohio
post Jan 11 2007, 11:47 PM
Post #3




Rank: Tornado
**

Group: Founding Member
Posts: 320
Joined: 8-March 04
From: Fairfield County, Ohio USA
Member No.: 49





I've never been down for more than a few minutes to an hour for computer reboots etc. VWS downloads the archive when it starts up for me though I've read before that it did not for others. I'm afraid I don't have an answer why it acts that way.

You might want to check out the SoftWX's add on programs for the VP:

http://www.softwx.com/downloads.html

I'm using VirtualVP, VPLive, and StartWatch. Virtual VP has a feature to restart the USB connection if it detects a failure. Plus it will also allow you to run several other programs such as WeatherLink at the same time.

Fortunately USB was not available yet when I purchased my VP. I've never had a single disconnect with the serial connection... Well there was that close lightning strike a couple of years ago. The serial port I was using that day did not live to tell about it.

:wink:


--------------------
Mark

Davis Vantage Pro I Wireless

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2017 - 10:55 AM