Login to AccuWeather.com Premium Login to AccuWeather.com Professional Login to AccuWeather.com RadarPlus AccuWeather.com

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Wind speed problem
radioman
post Jul 17 2010, 03:27 PM
Post #1




Rank: Whirlwind
*

Group: Founding Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 6-October 06
From: Fremont, Ohio
Member No.: 3,267





Vantage Pro 2 on line 24/7/365 since 2007.
All of a sudden within the last couple of weeks the wind
speed stops working (zero reading) during the heat of
the day. Comes back to life again when temp begins
to cool off.

There is NO problem with the wind direction, just the
wind speed.

It seems to be heat related. Any ideas guys?

Thanks... www.wx.tatorz.com

Monday: 07/19/10 - hailstorm, it's a wireless system.
After my Heath 5001 wx (wired) station took a direct
lightning hit, I wish I would have stayed with a wired
station.


This post has been edited by radioman: Jul 19 2010, 06:30 AM


--------------------
Fremont, OH. WX at; www.fremont-oh-weather.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hailstorm
post Jul 18 2010, 09:21 AM
Post #2




Rank: Whirlwind
*

Group: Member
Posts: 22
Joined: 29-March 08
Member No.: 14,532





Is your VP2 wired or wireless? It could be the anemometer, the transmitter (wireless) or the ISS. Might as well call Davis Tech Support and run it by them, it sounds like you're going to need something replaced anyway.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Linmk2
post Jul 18 2010, 12:34 PM
Post #3




Rank: Tornado
**

Group: Founding Member
Posts: 68
Joined: 7-March 04
From: Port Arthur, Texas
Member No.: 23





QUOTE(hailstorm @ Jul 18 2010, 02:21 PM) *
Is your VP2 wired or wireless? It could be the anemometer, the transmitter (wireless) or the ISS. Might as well call Davis Tech Support and run it by them, it sounds like you're going to need something replaced anyway.

My guess is that the reed switch is going bad. The reed switch is nothing more than a switch that turns off and on as the anemometer turns. The number of times the switch cycles, is converted to windspeed. Since heat expands items, my thought is that the reed switch's contacts expand and don't make a good connection. When the unit cools down, the material contracts and contact is made again. I still have a VP 1 and I replaced the reed switch on the rain gauge. It was very simply, my guess it would not be too much of an issue to replace the one in the anemometer shaft. Let us know what Davis Tech has to say.


--------------------
Howard H./ Pt. Arthur, Texas
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bro931
post Sep 2 2010, 04:03 PM
Post #4




Rank: Whirlwind
*

Group: Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 31-August 10
Member No.: 23,532





My Vantage Pro2 anemometer just went through a period of 13 days with all zero wind readings. It's been rather calm here recently, but the wind direction vane was moving occasionally. But not the anemometer cups. Today, with Earl spinning of the NC coast, the cups finally moved. I think they may have been bound up by some spider webs of something and it took a decent gust of wind to break them free.

You might want to check to be sure that your anemometer cups are turning. If so, the problem could be the reed switch or the transmission of the sensor data to the base unit. Davis has a test cable that replaces the anemometer and will test the SIM. The anemometer test cable is a short cable about 1 foot long which simulates a southerly wind direction. A push-button on the end of the test cable can be pushed to simulate wind speeds up to about 15mph.

Good luck.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
radioman
post Oct 27 2010, 06:55 PM
Post #5




Rank: Whirlwind
*

Group: Founding Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 6-October 06
From: Fremont, Ohio
Member No.: 3,267





After many months putting up with this problem, I finally had
the time to call Davis and talk to a tech. He said it sounds like
it's a spider web problem inside where the magnet and reed
switch is located. Loosen cup set screw and remove cup assy
and clean out the unit.

I did just that today (a windy day) and it WORKED again! I
thought my problems were over, NOT! It only worked about
15 minutes and the same thing happened all over again. NO,
the cups are NOT stuck. I called Davis again and a new unit
is on the way for $82.00 and I send the old back. Not a bad
price after pricing them on after market web sites.

Tech said it must be a bad reed switch.. So in a week I'll be
back in business...


This post has been edited by radioman: Oct 27 2010, 07:06 PM


--------------------
Fremont, OH. WX at; www.fremont-oh-weather.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hailstorm
post Oct 28 2010, 08:52 AM
Post #6




Rank: Whirlwind
*

Group: Member
Posts: 22
Joined: 29-March 08
Member No.: 14,532





Mine has developed the same problem. I noticed the cups don't turn in light winds, seems like it takes a slight gust to get them turning and then it's ok, when the wind dies down the cups stop abruptly. I contacted Davis via email and they told me the bearings are probably worn and the anemometer needs to be replaced. I'm probably going to wait till next spring to replace it.

I really like my VP2, but so far I've had to replace the temp./hum sensor ($75) and now the anemometer ($80+) and the unit is only 3 years old. sad.gif

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
radioman
post Nov 30 2010, 04:51 PM
Post #7




Rank: Whirlwind
*

Group: Founding Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 6-October 06
From: Fremont, Ohio
Member No.: 3,267





Installing a new anemometer did the trick! tongue.gif
Works like a champ now...

Working with Davis direct is the ONLY way to go.

Have a great holiday season everyone! smile.gif


--------------------
Fremont, OH. WX at; www.fremont-oh-weather.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th May 2018 - 07:29 PM