Login to AccuWeather.com Premium Login to AccuWeather.com Professional Login to AccuWeather.com RadarPlus AccuWeather.com

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Laptop Issue, Help Need/Appreciated
futureweatherman...
post Dec 5 2010, 06:44 PM
Post #1




Rank: F5 Superstorm
***

Group: Member
Posts: 11,919
Joined: 27-August 08
From: NW OH
Member No.: 15,447





So I have a huge problem with my laptop right now. I was on my laptop watch Live Radar to look at some random snow coming towards me and my laptop completely shut off. Black screen, and it won't reboot.

Any idea on how to fix it?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks


--------------------


QUOTE(SEMIweather @ Oct 17 2010, 02:10 AM) *
i was lclicking on it going pelasejk not nicki minaj m-please not micni minaj hughhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Beck
post Dec 5 2010, 07:00 PM
Post #2




Rank: F5 Superstorm
***

Group: Member
Posts: 29,716
Joined: 2-December 09
From: Temecula, California
Member No.: 19,931





My laptop did the same thing a few months ago. A friend fixed it by holding down the "power" button on my laptop above the keypad for about 10 seconds until it turned back on. Then, if you come to a screen that tells you Windows did not shut down properly, select the "Start Window Normally" option.

I hope that helps. I'm sure someone else here has better info on the matter.


--------------------
Temecula Seasonal Precipitation 2014-2015: 0.45" (+0.27")
Normal to-date precipitation: 0.18"
Season began July 1st, 2014.

My Seasonal Precipitation 2014-2015: 0.81"

Temecula Weather Pages

QUOTE(wingsovernc @ Sep 13 2014, 04:20 PM) *
You're cute when you're whining Becky :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
futureweatherman...
post Dec 5 2010, 07:05 PM
Post #3




Rank: F5 Superstorm
***

Group: Member
Posts: 11,919
Joined: 27-August 08
From: NW OH
Member No.: 15,447





QUOTE(Beck @ Dec 5 2010, 07:00 PM) *
My laptop did the same thing a few months ago. A friend fixed it by holding down the "power" button on my laptop above the keypad for about 10 seconds until it turned back on. Then, if you come to a screen that tells you Windows did not shut down properly, select the "Start Window Normally" option.

I hope that helps. I'm sure someone else here has better info on the matter.

Tried it already, no luck.

This was different then a shut down because of an error. It was working fine then shut off completely. No sign that it's even still working.


--------------------


QUOTE(SEMIweather @ Oct 17 2010, 02:10 AM) *
i was lclicking on it going pelasejk not nicki minaj m-please not micni minaj hughhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jdrenken
post Dec 5 2010, 07:07 PM
Post #4




Rank: F5 Superstorm
***

Group: SuperModerator
Posts: 32,986
Joined: 26-March 08
From: Columbia, MO
Member No.: 14,521





Sounds like a battery pack or PSU issue.


--------------------
QUOTE
For the record...I AM THE MISSOURI MAULER!


It's a work in progress!

Have a question? Look at our FAQ first.






89.5 FM KOPN Weather Blog

If it is important enough to you, you will find a way. If it is not, you will find an excuse.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Beck
post Dec 5 2010, 07:10 PM
Post #5




Rank: F5 Superstorm
***

Group: Member
Posts: 29,716
Joined: 2-December 09
From: Temecula, California
Member No.: 19,931





Hmm...maybe the battery could be an issue? From what you've told me, I see no reason that the laptop is bricked completely.


--------------------
Temecula Seasonal Precipitation 2014-2015: 0.45" (+0.27")
Normal to-date precipitation: 0.18"
Season began July 1st, 2014.

My Seasonal Precipitation 2014-2015: 0.81"

Temecula Weather Pages

QUOTE(wingsovernc @ Sep 13 2014, 04:20 PM) *
You're cute when you're whining Becky :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
futureweatherman...
post Dec 5 2010, 07:14 PM
Post #6




Rank: F5 Superstorm
***

Group: Member
Posts: 11,919
Joined: 27-August 08
From: NW OH
Member No.: 15,447





QUOTE(jdrenken @ Dec 5 2010, 07:07 PM) *
Sounds like a battery pack or PSU issue.

Any idea on what I could do to fix it?


--------------------


QUOTE(SEMIweather @ Oct 17 2010, 02:10 AM) *
i was lclicking on it going pelasejk not nicki minaj m-please not micni minaj hughhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mmi16
post Dec 5 2010, 07:46 PM
Post #7




Rank: F5 Superstorm
***

Group: Member
Posts: 20,081
Joined: 27-January 08
Member No.: 13,204





Sounds like the internal power supply has failed. I would expect it can be repaired, but should be carried out by a technician that knows what they are doing.

The power supply, supplies the regulated power to all the micro devices.


--------------------
Never too old to have a happy childhood!


....................


Don't put an age limit on your dreams!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Beck
post Dec 5 2010, 07:48 PM
Post #8




Rank: F5 Superstorm
***

Group: Member
Posts: 29,716
Joined: 2-December 09
From: Temecula, California
Member No.: 19,931





QUOTE(mmi16 @ Dec 5 2010, 04:46 PM) *
Sounds like the internal power supply has failed. I would expect it can be repaired, but should be carried out by a technician that knows what they are doing.

The power supply, supplies the regulated power to all the micro devices.


This is the way to go.

Maybe you could take it the your local Best Buy and/or Geek Squad, they always know what they're doing.


--------------------
Temecula Seasonal Precipitation 2014-2015: 0.45" (+0.27")
Normal to-date precipitation: 0.18"
Season began July 1st, 2014.

My Seasonal Precipitation 2014-2015: 0.81"

Temecula Weather Pages

QUOTE(wingsovernc @ Sep 13 2014, 04:20 PM) *
You're cute when you're whining Becky :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
futureweatherman...
post Dec 5 2010, 09:33 PM
Post #9




Rank: F5 Superstorm
***

Group: Member
Posts: 11,919
Joined: 27-August 08
From: NW OH
Member No.: 15,447





QUOTE(mmi16 @ Dec 5 2010, 07:46 PM) *
Sounds like the internal power supply has failed. I would expect it can be repaired, but should be carried out by a technician that knows what they are doing.

The power supply, supplies the regulated power to all the micro devices.

Any idea how much this would cost?


--------------------


QUOTE(SEMIweather @ Oct 17 2010, 02:10 AM) *
i was lclicking on it going pelasejk not nicki minaj m-please not micni minaj hughhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jdrenken
post Dec 5 2010, 10:18 PM
Post #10




Rank: F5 Superstorm
***

Group: SuperModerator
Posts: 32,986
Joined: 26-March 08
From: Columbia, MO
Member No.: 14,521





QUOTE(futureweatherman12 @ Dec 5 2010, 08:33 PM) *
Any idea how much this would cost?


Not cheap that's for sure! If I were you, I would do some price comparisons around town because Best Buy charges way too much just to look at it. Could only imagine what it would cost to replace the PSU.

The best question to ask is if they have any technicians that are certified to work on your brand of laptop.


--------------------
QUOTE
For the record...I AM THE MISSOURI MAULER!


It's a work in progress!

Have a question? Look at our FAQ first.






89.5 FM KOPN Weather Blog

If it is important enough to you, you will find a way. If it is not, you will find an excuse.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
futureweatherman...
post Dec 6 2010, 03:53 PM
Post #11




Rank: F5 Superstorm
***

Group: Member
Posts: 11,919
Joined: 27-August 08
From: NW OH
Member No.: 15,447





QUOTE(jdrenken @ Dec 5 2010, 10:18 PM) *
Not cheap that's for sure! If I were you, I would do some price comparisons around town because Best Buy charges way too much just to look at it. Could only imagine what it would cost to replace the PSU.

The best question to ask is if they have any technicians that are certified to work on your brand of laptop.

I talked to a Computer expert that I know. He suspects that the actual cord that plugs into the computer might have broke, and that I had been running on batter power for a while and not have noticed. That would be great if that was true, but I'm doubtful. I'm bring in the power cord tomorrow to get it tested. Hopefully it works out OK


--------------------


QUOTE(SEMIweather @ Oct 17 2010, 02:10 AM) *
i was lclicking on it going pelasejk not nicki minaj m-please not micni minaj hughhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mmi16
post Dec 7 2010, 03:42 PM
Post #12




Rank: F5 Superstorm
***

Group: Member
Posts: 20,081
Joined: 27-January 08
Member No.: 13,204





QUOTE(futureweatherman12 @ Dec 6 2010, 03:53 PM) *
I talked to a Computer expert that I know. He suspects that the actual cord that plugs into the computer might have broke, and that I had been running on batter power for a while and not have noticed. That would be great if that was true, but I'm doubtful. I'm bring in the power cord tomorrow to get it tested. Hopefully it works out OK

Can't speak for your computer...mine gives multiple warnings of the battery running low before it shuts down.

For a Q&D test of your battery supply cord....use a volt/amp meter to read the output from your external power supply cable.


--------------------
Never too old to have a happy childhood!


....................


Don't put an age limit on your dreams!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jdrenken
post Dec 7 2010, 06:05 PM
Post #13




Rank: F5 Superstorm
***

Group: SuperModerator
Posts: 32,986
Joined: 26-March 08
From: Columbia, MO
Member No.: 14,521





QUOTE(futureweatherman12 @ Dec 6 2010, 02:53 PM) *
I talked to a Computer expert that I know. He suspects that the actual cord that plugs into the computer might have broke, and that I had been running on batter power for a while and not have noticed. That would be great if that was true, but I'm doubtful. I'm bring in the power cord tomorrow to get it tested. Hopefully it works out OK


I had a friend of mine who bought a Toshiba from Wal-Mart. Their connectors inside the computer for the A/C cord broke...not the cord. You guessed it...out of warranty.


--------------------
QUOTE
For the record...I AM THE MISSOURI MAULER!


It's a work in progress!

Have a question? Look at our FAQ first.






89.5 FM KOPN Weather Blog

If it is important enough to you, you will find a way. If it is not, you will find an excuse.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
futureweatherman...
post Dec 7 2010, 06:09 PM
Post #14




Rank: F5 Superstorm
***

Group: Member
Posts: 11,919
Joined: 27-August 08
From: NW OH
Member No.: 15,447





QUOTE(mmi16 @ Dec 7 2010, 03:42 PM) *
Can't speak for your computer...mine gives multiple warnings of the battery running low before it shuts down.

For a Q&D test of your battery supply cord....use a volt/amp meter to read the output from your external power supply cable.

That's the plan for tomorrow now.

QUOTE(jdrenken @ Dec 7 2010, 06:05 PM) *
I had a friend of mine who bought a Toshiba from Wal-Mart. Their connectors inside the computer for the A/C cord broke...not the cord. You guessed it...out of warranty.

I'm also worried about that. Asus seemed like a quality brand when we bought this laptop so it's disappointing.


--------------------


QUOTE(SEMIweather @ Oct 17 2010, 02:10 AM) *
i was lclicking on it going pelasejk not nicki minaj m-please not micni minaj hughhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cracker
post Dec 17 2010, 02:58 AM
Post #15




Rank: F5 Superstorm
***

Group: Member
Posts: 3,414
Joined: 30-December 09
From: nc
Member No.: 20,641





I shudder with dread to ask this; does anyone know anything about windows ce 6.0? I've got a very inexpensive note book I'm trying to learn to use. Seems to lock up a lot. Does CE have any games you know of?


--------------------
oh smeg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Valhaz
post Dec 17 2010, 12:17 PM
Post #16




Rank: F5 Superstorm
***

Group: Member
Posts: 537
Joined: 7-September 08
From: Gulf Coast
Member No.: 15,655





QUOTE(jdrenken @ Dec 7 2010, 05:05 PM) *
I had a friend of mine who bought a Toshiba from Wal-Mart. Their connectors inside the computer for the A/C cord broke...not the cord. You guessed it...out of warranty.



I can personally speak on this. I bought a Toshiba and after about three years of going back and forth with it (3 years isn't bad for a laptop) the power cord finally went out on me. I purchased a new one and after a month or so it began to do the same thing. I called Toshiba and they seem to think it's not the power cord, but like jd said, the actual connectors for the power port are brokn/loose. I can turn my cord certain ways and it works for a little bit, so I assume they getting more and more loose as time goes by. I haven't used that laptop in forever now as I don't feel it's worth the money fixing it/purchasing new par(s).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jdrenken
post Dec 17 2010, 02:16 PM
Post #17




Rank: F5 Superstorm
***

Group: SuperModerator
Posts: 32,986
Joined: 26-March 08
From: Columbia, MO
Member No.: 14,521





QUOTE(futureweatherman12 @ Dec 7 2010, 05:09 PM) *
I'm also worried about that. Asus seemed like a quality brand when we bought this laptop so it's disappointing.


Any update on this?


--------------------
QUOTE
For the record...I AM THE MISSOURI MAULER!


It's a work in progress!

Have a question? Look at our FAQ first.






89.5 FM KOPN Weather Blog

If it is important enough to you, you will find a way. If it is not, you will find an excuse.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
futureweatherman...
post Dec 17 2010, 04:09 PM
Post #18




Rank: F5 Superstorm
***

Group: Member
Posts: 11,919
Joined: 27-August 08
From: NW OH
Member No.: 15,447





QUOTE(jdrenken @ Dec 17 2010, 02:16 PM) *
Any update on this?

Well, it's working just fine now. I really don't know what happened. I brought it in to the Tech. Guy at school... plugged it into the wall and hit the power button and turned on. I felt kind of stupid honestly. The battery was drained, but was charging. Something had to have happened to the Outlet I was using or something... but it still doesn't make sense.

The power cord was tested and worked fully, and it had the light on that indicated it was plugged in when the laptop still wouldn't boot up. Faulty outlet I guess?

I had actually tried it on two other outlets outside the room and it would not boot... so I'm at a loss. Just glad that it works.


--------------------


QUOTE(SEMIweather @ Oct 17 2010, 02:10 AM) *
i was lclicking on it going pelasejk not nicki minaj m-please not micni minaj hughhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st October 2014 - 07:15 AM